Thomas Pieters Ewen Ferguson France Belgium golf Thomas Pieters Ewen Ferguson France Belgium

Bizarre moment Thomas Pieters duffs putt at Open de France, gets to replace ball thanks to rule change

Reading now: 121
eurosport.com

Thomas Pieters was the talk of the Open de France on Friday, after chunking a putt only to benefit from a rule change to get a do-over.

We’ve all been there, right? Standing on the green, ready to hit a 40-foot putt only to completely duff it and watch the ball go about three feet.

Ad Maybe not, but that’s what happened to the Belgian in the second round at Le Golf National. Cazoo Open de FranceHojgaard leads Open de France after course record, Reed off the paceA DAY AGO Immediately after making contact with the ball, Pieters turned to his playing partner and said: “I didn’t mean to hit it.” The look on his face was one of bewilderment and shock as opposed to anger at such a terrible stroke, so there was probably merit in his comments.

His playing partner Ewen Ferguson, clearly a scholar of the rules of golf, told Pieters to seek a ruling as he was of the opinion that if it was an unintentional strike, you can replace the ball in its original spot for no penalty.

Read more on eurosport.com
The website players.bio is an aggregator of news from open sources. The source is indicated at the beginning and at the end of the announcement. You can send a complaint on the news if you find it unreliable.

Related News

DMCA