An explanation has been given on why Crystal Palace striker Jean-Philippe Mateta was made to retake a penalty against Manchester United. The Eagles were awarded a spot-kick when Leny Yoro fouled Mateta in the area. The striker took up to take the penalty, and put the ball into the bottom left hand corner.
But replays showed a slight double touch. Announcing that decision on the pitch, referee Rob Jones said: "After review, Crystal Palace 14 touches the ball twice and the ball goes into the net. It's going to be a retaken penalty."
While on co-commentary for TNT Sports, Ally McCoist said: "As you can expect, it was a mixed reaction from the supporters, home and away."
In earlier seasons, the situation would have resulted in United being awarded an indirect free-kick.
However, a review of the rules earlier this year means that an accidental double touch now results in the penalty being retaken. It's the first time in the Premier League that the new rule has been implemented.
The change came after former Man City forward Julian Alvarez saw a penalty goal disallowed for Atletico Madrid against Real Madrid in the Champions League.
The rule was seen in the Women's Euro 2025 final. England star Beth Mead was forced to retake her penalty in the shootout, but saw her second attempt saved.
Mateta again stepped up to retake the penalty. He sent the ball past Senne Lammens again and into the opposite bottom corner to give Palace a 1-0 lead.
Following the incident, the Premier League confirmed via their Match Centre X - formerly Twitter - account that a VAR review recommended the original penalty goal to be overturned with a retake taking place.
The PL statement read: "After VAR review, the referee overturned the original decision
Read more on manchestereveningnews.co.uk